My Students’ Job

There are (at least) two ways in which I currently am doing the work of my students:

  1. I use learning outcomes to set learning goals and look for demonstrations of mastery.
  2. I frequently gauge timing and pacing through comprehension checks.

I will incorporate the following steps to ensure my students take on the burden of these two tasks:

  1. Post learning outcomes in class
  2. Have students draft two personal learning goals per semester that align with the outcomes.
  3. Have students demonstrate their attainment of their goals in the form of a self-created performance assessment.
  4. With the students, democratically elect a hand gesture to use when there is confusion. The signal cues me, the teacher, to use my tools to make the language more comprehensible.
Leave a Reply

